Skip to content

My latest “read”: Outliers

January 4, 2009

I love books, but reading takes me a lot of time. I love all the information and inspiration in books, but I comprehend and understand things so much better when I hear them. So now that iTunes has audio books, 2009 is a year with all kinds of “reading” possibilities.

outliersMy latest “read” is Malcolm Gladwell’s new book, Outliers. Can I just say, “wow!”? I’ve read some other stuff by Gladwell (like Blink) and loved it. But this one is amazing. I’m drinking it in like a man who finds water in the dessert. It’s an investigation of the anatomy of success– and it’s not at all what you’d expect.

If you aren’t reading anything right now, get a hold of this book right away. If your a business executive, you might discover another reason for where you are in your career. If you’re a stay-at-home mom, you’ll find tons of application to raising children. If you’re an artist, you’ll want to actually read this to see how long it will take you to be an expert. If you read it, let me know and we’ll get together and talk about it.

What are you reading that is worth all of us spending our bling on right away?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Brian Reese permalink
    January 5, 2009 9:17 am

    I started “Walk On – The Spiritual Journey of U2” over the break… diggin’ it so far.

  2. January 5, 2009 9:25 am

    you should check out

    Death By Love, by Mark Driscoll

    one of the best books I read.

  3. Dustin Pringle permalink
    January 5, 2009 12:52 pm

    I saw that one for the first time yesterday in Costco and I can’t wait to get my hands on it (I’m on the free book program – Public Library). I read blink last year and it was one of my best reads all year.

    One of my most interesting recent reads was Thomas J. Stanley’s “The Millionaire Mind” and the “Millionaire Next Door”. They blew away the stereotypes we tend to put on the “the rich”…

    One more thing if you are better as an Audio Book junkie (which I am)… go to the library! They have a great selection (that’s how I read all the books I just mentioned). Listen to them while you run, do mindless chores around the house, commute to work, etc…

  4. Zoie permalink
    January 10, 2009 7:29 am

    I am finishing up “Good to Great.” I thought it would be worth going back through it.

Leave a comment